• Chief Pharmacist (Acting) – Helen Burn Tel: 01622 227224 email: helen.burn@nhs.net
  • Pharmacy Services Manager (Tunbridge Wells Hospital) – Tase Oputu Tel: 01892 633280: tase.oputu@nhs.net
  • Pharmacy Services Manager (Maidstone Hospital) – Helen Burn Tel: 01622 224312 email: helen.burn@nhs.net
  • Oncology: Lead Pharmacist – Conchi Blanco-Criado Tel: 01622 225277 email: mblanco-criado@nhs.net
  • Patient Services (Tunbridge Wells Hospitals): Principal Pharmacist – Hilary McGuigan Tel: 01892 632261 (from Sept 2011: 631260) email: hilary.mcguigan@nhs.net
  • Clinical Services Principal Pharmacist – Richard Goodsall Tel: 01622 224302 email: richard.goodsall@nhs.net
  • Medicines Information: Principal Pharmacist – Katy Cook Tel: 01892 634218 email: katycook@nhs.net
  • Education & Training Principal Pharmacist – Andrew Turton Tel: 01892 631249 email: andrew.turton@nhs.net
  • Antibiotics: Lead Pharmacist – Emmanuel Idowu Tel: 01622 224302 email: emmanuelidowu@nhs.net

There are over 100 staff employed by the Pharmacy Department, working in four locations across the Trust. The department in made up of four main groups of staff:

Pharmacists

It takes 5 years to qualify as a pharmacist (a 4 year degree course followed by 1 year of pre-registration training) All pharmacists, from a newly qualified junior to the Chief Pharmacist, are members of the General Pharmaceutical Council. (GPhC) Their training and professional qualification make them ideally placed to provide clinical advice and information to prescribers, nursing staff and patients on the safe and effective use of medicines. Our pharmacists work in the dispensaries, on wards and in specialist services such as oncology, medicines information, ophthamology, paediatrics, intensive care and aseptic preparation.

Technicians

Pharmacy technicians have an NVQ level 3 and underpinning knowledge certificate in Pharmaceutical Science. They are also registered with the (GPhC). Their duties include the dispensing of prescriptions, the preparation of aseptic products and over recent years their role has expanded. Many of our technicians are taking medication histories, advising patients on how to take their medicines, undertaking the final check on a dispensed prescription, managing our dispensaries, controlling stock and purchasing.

Assistants

Pharmacy assistants have an important role and are trained within the pharmacy. Their duties include the distribution of stock to wards and departments and stock control of pharmaceuticals within the pharmacy department.

Clerical & Administrative staff

Last, but not least, the pharmacy department employs a number of clerical and administrative staff to support all of the pharmacy services. Communication, maintaining computer databases, keeping records of orders, preparation of reports and helping with the day to day smooth running of the department are among the jobs undertaken.