Recite me link

At the beginning of the year we asked for your help in recognising the fantastic work of staff and volunteers at Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (MTW) as part of our Exceptional people, outstanding care Star Awards. A huge thank you must go to everyone who contributed towards the 450 nominations that we received!

After three years of being unable to hold the event as we responded to the COVID pandemic, we are thrilled to be able to bring the awards back so that we can celebrate all of the individuals and teams who reflect the behaviours, values and outstanding care we see across MTW every day.

It was a tough job for our judges to whittle all of the nominations down, but we’re delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees for each of the categories are:

Patient First

For staff who go beyond normal expectations to care for patients with exceptional kindness, dignity and respect, showing the Trust commitment to putting our patients first in everything we do:

  • Dr David Jones, Children’s Emergency Department
  • Lesley Smith, Discharge Liaison
  • Bronwyn Tetley, Lead Pathway Nurse, Colorectal Cancer


For staff who champion equality, diversity and inclusion and embody the Trust’s values:

  • Russello Flora, Occupational Therapy Assistant
  • Sue Jones, Integrated Sexual Health Nurse
  • Kym Sullivan, Divisional Director or Operations for Women’s, Children’s and Sexual Health


Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrate a drive for continuous improvement, innovative thinking and willingness to embrace change and share ideas:

  • Kellie Falconer, Nurse, ITU
  • Sue Jones, Integrated Sexual Health Nurse
  • Virtual Fracture Clinic


This award recognises a support team whose work plays a key role in supporting MTW to deliver outstanding care and service to patients, staff and visitors:

  • Chronic Pain Unit Admin Team
  • Endoscopy Team (both sites)
  • Immaculate Nakatudde, Delivery Suite Nurse


An award that recognises excellence in leadership. A leader may not necessarily be a manager, but someone who displays behaviours that inspire others to achieve, demonstrates vision, and educates, mentors or supports others to help them develop their skills:

  • Karen Griffiths, Unit Manager, Maidstone Infusion Suite
  • Jennifer Ireland, Blood Sciences Manager
  • Ruth Perry, Unit Coordinator, Maidstone Short Stay Surgical Unit
  • Anthea Randell, Ward Sister, Charles Dickens Day Unit

Team of the Year

For a team that may have faced challenges and pressure but continued to deliver, working together to maintain care, quality or performance and contributing to our outstanding care vision:

  • Breast Radiology Team, Maidstone
  • Electronic Patient Record Team
  • Endoscopy Team (both sites)

Volunteer of the Year

For a volunteer who made a real difference to a patient, relative, colleague or team through their community spirited commitment to supporting their local hospital:

  • Cardiac Rehab volunteers
  • Anthony Jennings
  • Ben Waite

Hospital Hero

A staff superstar whose drive, enthusiasm, care and humour inspires and supports those around them:

  • Sindhu Balagopal, Matron, Acute Medicine and Geriatrics
  • Tracy Paxman, Clinical Support Worker
  • Helen Vaughn, Highly Specialised Speech and Language Therapist

The winners of these, and two further awards, will be announced at a special awards ceremony taking place on Friday 28 April. The two additional awards are:

Employee of the Year

The Employee of the Year is selected by the judging panel from staff awarded Employee of the Month. Employee of the Month provides an opportunity for any MTW member of staff or a volunteer to be recognised for their efforts:

  • Opal Bryan, Junior Sister for Women’s, Children’s and Sexual Health
  • Stacey Davis and Karen Smart, Senior Phlebotomist and Domestic Assistant
  • Ervis Kuka, Domestic Assistant
  • Jenni Old, Trainee Anatomical Pathology Technologist
  • Ruth Parker, Deputy Head Orthoptist
  • Milli Patel, Training Manager EPMA
  • Shaun Peel, Senior Finance Management Accountant
  • Joe Ruse, Senior Clinical Coding Analyst
  • Emily Sedge, Senior Clinical Support Worker, Women’s Whitehead Unit
  • Lianne Sheehy, Patient Advice and Liaison Service Officer
  • Arabella Waller, Consultant Physician, Rheumatologist, MTW Clinical Vaccination Lead

Chair’s Award

This award recognises an exceptional member of staff or a team who have made an exemplary contribution to our ‘Exceptional people, outstanding care’ vision and have helped develop real change across the Trust. The winner is chosen by the Trust Chair and will be announced on the night of the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to all the nominees who have been voted for, and shortlisted, and thank you to everyone who has taken part. We’ll be back to share the winners at the end of the month.