Former star of ‘Loose Women’ Carol McGiffin helped make an event celebrating the achievements of staff and volunteers from Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust (MTW) extra special on Friday evening.

The Trust held their annual Staff Stars Awards event at Oakwood House in Maidstone to celebrate winners and runners-up in a number of categories, recognising those who always go above and beyond expectations in their roles. Carol joined Chief Executive, Jim Lusby, and Chairman, David Highton, on stage to help present the awards to over 30 members of staff.

A charity raffle on the night raised over £1,000 for blood cancer charity, Bloodwise, which was nominated by Carol to receive the proceeds raised.

Full details of the winners and award categories are detailed below.

Patient First

Runner up – Individual: Amy Duncan, Reception, Maidstone
Winner – Individual: Stephanie McKinley, Clinical Research Team
Runner up – Team: Haematology and Oncology Day Unit, TWH
Winner – Team: Community Midwifery Support Workers


Runner up – Individual: Claire Riddle, Team Leader, W&C, TWH
Winner – Individual: Ethel Candelaria, A&E, TWH
Runner up – Team: Maidstone Orthopaedic Unit
Winner – Team: Pye Oliver Ward


Runner up – Individual: Sarah Knight, Maternity, TWH
Winner – Individual: Debbie Cay, Theatre Practitioner, Maidstone
Runner up – Team: Delivery Suite, TWH
Winner – Team: Chaucer Ward


Runner up – Individual: Catherine Galloway, CT Superintendent, TWH
Winner – Individual: Susan Powley, Maternity IT and Projects Lead, TWH
Runner up – Team: Finance Team
Winner – Team: ENPs, A&E


Runner up – Individual: Dr Conn Sugihara, Cardiologist, Maidstone
Winner – Individual: Julia Martin (Reed), Pharmacist, Maidstone
Runner up – Team: John Day Ward, Maidstone
Winner – Team: Surgical Assessment Unit, TWH

Kent Messenger Newspaper Hospital Heroes Award

Winner: ITU Maidstone

Courier Newspaper Hospital Heroes Award

Winner: Jackie Tyler

Special Recognition Award

Winner: Leighann Mitchell, Sister, Stroke Unit, Maidstone

Chairman’s Award

Winner: Danielle Tolley, Therapeutic Radiotherapy Support Worker

Volunteer of the year

Runner Up: Valerie Blackman, Chaplaincy
Winner: Daphne Springett, Neurology, Maidstone

Team of the Year

Runner Up: League of Friends, Maidstone
Winner: Maidstone Short Stay Surgical Unit

Employee of the Year

Runner Up: Sakheleni Makena, Acting Ward Manager, Stroke
Winner: Kate Holmes, A&E

Note to editors:
More photos are available on request. TWH denotes Tunbridge Wells Hospital.