Medical Physics

Medical Physics Department

Welcome to the Medical Physics Department's pages.

Departmental Overview

The Medical Physics Department provides clinical, scientific, technical and engineering services to the Kent Oncology Centre at Canterbury and Maidstone, the Diagnostic Care Group and other departments of the Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust on both TWH and Maidstone sites together with other external Trusts, and organisations.

The Department comprises 4 sections: -

  1. Health Physics and Imaging Group (including Nuclear Medicine Physics)
  2. Radiotherapy Physics
  3. Medical Physics Engineering
  4. Computer Sciences

The Department is part of the embryonic Kent-wide Medical Physics Network working in close partnership with the East Kent Medical Physics Department.

Staff within the Department also advise the Trust on the application of relevant legislation involving ionising and non-ionising radiations and develop processes and procedures to ensure Trust compliance with legislation.

In addition staff are proactive in carrying out research and development into new devices and techniques to improve patient treatments and participate in teaching and training of various staff groups.


Stephen Duck

Director of Medical Physics

01622 227051

Sue Wilkins

PA to Director of Medical Phyiscs and Medical Physics Department Administrator

01622 227051

Related links

Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM)

The British Institue of Radiology (BIR)